Item Added

View Basket Now

Neo Strings: Solo Strings Ensemble

Kontakt Version Required:
5.8.1 Full Version (Not for Kontakt Player) - learn more
Product Version: 2

Insanity Samples

A modern solo string ensemble for Kontakt

Was £165.83
Now £116.08
Save 30%
Don't miss out, sale ends in 16 days
Neo Strings: Solo Strings Ensemble
Insanity Samples
Buy this product and earn
348 Credits
How can I use my Credits?

Product Overview

NEO STRINGS is a modern solo string ensemble comprising of violin, viola, cello and double bass. Recorded in the same beautiful space through 4 mic signals, and a huge 24 articulations captured for each instrument in great detail. Comprising over 60,000 samples.
With articulations ranging from the staple bread and butter articulations of a stringed instrument (though still jam packed with unique character) to ultra modern textural playing effects and extended techniques.

Key Features

  • 1 Violin, 1 Viola, 1 Cello, 1 Double Bass
  • 24 articulations per instrument (17 main, 7 extended techniques & FX) [listed in detail at the bottom of the page]
  • True Legato, Dynamic Crossfading & live Vibrato/Non-Vibrato control
  • 4 mic positions; Close (Overhead), Room (Left & Right), Ambient
  • RAM light stereo pre-mixed versions
  • 14.4GB download size
  • 60,000 samples



All articulations are present for each instrument unless specified otherwise
Main Articulations
  • Sustained Longs - Vibrato & Non-Vibrato (With True Legato & Dynamic Crossfades)
  • Polyphonic Sustained Longs - Vibrato & Non-Vibrato (With Dynamic Crossfades)
  • Staccato (Shortened notes, still with some length)
  • Staccatissimo (Very short notes)
  • Spiccato (Short notes with Bow starting off string)
  • Pizzicato (Plucked with fingers)
  • Col Legno (Struck with the Back of the Bow) [On all instruments bar the Violin]
  • Expressive Longs - Non-Vibrato (Notes with a natural performance arc)
  • Expressive Longs - Vibrato (Note with a natural performance arc & vibrato)
  • Sforzando Decrescendo (A dramatic Decrescendo from Fortissimo)
  • Ornaments (Semi-tone and Whole tone turns both up from the root note and down)
  • Trills (Whole-tone and Semi tone performance trills, with a dynamic arc)
  • Tremolo (With accented start)
Extended Techniques & FX
  • Harmonics
  • Extreme Sul Pont (Bowed on the edge of annihilation at the bridge)
  • Pont-Tasto Cycles (A circular bow from bridge to fingerboard, like breathing)
  • Extreme Sul Tasto (Bowed over the fingerboard for a woodwind-esque texture)
  • Behind the Brige FX (Scratchy, harmonic laden special FX with bowing post bridge)
  • Sul Pont Erratic Trems (Slow to fast erratic trems on the edge of the bridge)
  • Erratic Vibrato (Ultra wide to narrow vibrato)
Supporting image for Neo Strings: Solo Strings Ensemble


This library at it's heart is a selfish endeavor on our part to create something that existed between a broken and character driven sound world of the likes of Tom Waits, or Marc Ribot. Blended in an orchestral instrumentation setting of the likes of Bartok. With his string quartet no. 1 being a good frame of reference for the way in which this library wanted to feel.
For example, the performed trills, which unlike plenty of readily available and wonderfully put together libraries, has a non continuous finite bows length, full of the individual performers character and playing style. To paraphrase Waits 'I like beautiful melodies, telling me terrible things'. That encapsulates what was attempted to be captured here...
Supporting image for Neo Strings: Solo Strings Ensemble

Play Video
Your Playlist CLEAR
Your playlist is currently empty. Visit a product page and add some tracks to your playlist